MDAH News Releases

Historical Society Accepting Nominations for Awards

Every year the Mississippi Historical Society awards prizes for outstanding work in interpreting, teaching, and preserving Mississippi history. Nominations are now being accepted for the following:

  • The McLemore Prize, which carries with it a $700 stipend, is given for the best book on a subject related to Mississippi history or biography published the previous year.
  • The John K. Bettersworth Award is given annually to an outstanding teacher of middle or high school history in Mississippi. The winning teacher receives a $300 cash award and is invited as the society’s guest to its annual meeting.
  • The Frank E. Everett, Jr. Award is given annually as merited to a local historical organization that, as a member of the Federation of Mississippi Historical Societies, has made an outstanding contribution to the preservation and interpretation of Mississippi history. The winning society receives a $300 cash award.
  • The Elbert R. Hilliard Oral History Award, which carries with it a $300 cash award, recognizes oral history projects exemplifying a distinguished collection, high-quality preservation, and proper use of oral history.
  • The James T. Dawson Award is presented annually as merited to a local government in Mississippi with an exemplary records management program. A local government eligible for the award may be a municipality, a county, or a school district.

Two other prizes, the Dunbar Rowland Award, given in recognition of major contributions to the study and interpretation of Mississippi History and the B.L.C. Wailes Award for national distinction in the field of history, are presented as merited.

Nominations for the Riley prize and the Glover Moore Prize will be accepted for 2012. The prizes are awarded biennially for a doctoral dissertation and master’s thesis, respectively, on a topic in Mississippi history or biography completed within the previous two years.

Awards of merit are presented annually to individuals or organizations for their outstanding archival or museum work.

All prizewinners will be invited to the society’s 2011 annual meeting, to be held March 3–5 in Jackson, to receive their awards.

For more information or to submit a nomination, email the Historical Society or call 601-576-6856.